Mon - Fri: 9:00 - 17:00
Sat-Sun Closed
Broad & Mechlin Street

Department of Comptroller and Accountant General’s

The Comptroller and Accountant General’s Department (CAGD) was established in March 2020 with the passage of the Amended and Restated PFM Act (2019), which was signed by the President of the Republic, His Excellency Dr. George Manneh Weah. This critical reform, which has been in the making for years, was done under the Donor Supported Public Financial Management Reforms Initiative of the Government of Liberia (GoL).

The Department is responsible for government accounting and treasury functions in accordance with the Public Financial Management Act and Regulations (2009), along with its Amendment and Restatement (2019), and other enactments required by law. The CAGD is responsible for initiating, formulating, and coordinating policy for the management of public funds and assets. The Department receives, pays, safeguards, and reports on the receipt and usage of all public funds on behalf of the government.

The Comptroller and Accountant General (CAG) heads the Department and reports to the Minister of Finance. The CAG advises ministries and agencies to ensure the effective implementation of accounting instructions. In line with the International Public Sector Accounting Standards (IPSASs) and with a consultation with the Auditor-General, the Department produces treasury and accounting instructions outlining the basis, policies, classification systems, chart of accounts, and the reporting format to be used in accounting for public funds by all government institutions. The Department is also responsible for producing quarterly and annual reports on consolidated fund accounts, annual government agency accounts, and annual public accounts for the attention of the Minister of Finance and Auditor-General.

For performing the above functions, the Comptroller and Accountant General’s Department consists of the following units :
1. Accounting Services Unit (ASU)
2. Treasury Services Unit (TSU
3. Financial Reporting and Reconciliation Unit (FRRU)
4. Technical Services Unit (TU)
5. Physical Audit Unit (PAU)
6. Inspectorate Unit (IU)
7. Mobile Money Unit (MMU)
9. Public Financial Management Unit (PFMU)



P. O. Box 10 - 9016
Broad & Mechlin Street
1000 Monrovia


Get updates and important events straight to your inbox. We don't spam

© Copyright 2024 | Ministry of Finance and Development Planning | . All Rights Reserved.